“Ferryman”

~Esther Mitchell, 2013~

A monster sits upon my chest,

Twisting claws deep into my heart,

Making me wish for oblivion’s dark,

The peace, to know I’ll leave this pain behind.

A war brews within my soul,

Driven by the need to feel,

Grasping for the breath of life,

Even if only reached in the crimson of my blood.

A starless night,

A choking mist that covers me,

Drives away all thought of balance,

And leaves me broken, screaming in the darkness.

There are no tethers here,

A fleeting dare whispers over me,

And only hope,

Bars the ferryman from me, now.

One response to ““Ferryman”

  1. I especially like ‘twisting claws deep into my heart’
    http://www.awordofsubstance.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

