“Ghost”

~ 2013 Esther Mitchell ~

 

You can’t see me,

But I’m right here.

 

You can’t hear me,

No matter how hard I scream.

 

You can’t accept me,

Not as I am.

 

You can’t love me,

No matter how much I bleed.

 

I’ve told myself to stop trying,

I’ve told myself I shouldn’t care,

I look in the mirror and see how I’ve hurt myself,

And yet, I can’t seem to stop giving, stop caring, stop bleeding.

 

I’m raw from the inside,

From the deepest soul out,

And still it does nothing,

To make me more than a ghost.

 

A figment of dreams,

A filament of distant memory,

A sometimes thought,

A whisper of familiarity,

Those are my lot in life,

And when I’m gone forever,

I won’t be even that much,

Ash,

Wind,

And gone with the pass of the breeze.

 

You can’t see me,

I’m already a ghost.

 

You can’t hear me,

I’m already gone.

 

You can’t love me,

Without admitting what I’ve known all along.

 

Leave a Reply

