“Whisper”

~ Esther Mitchell , 2008~

When you’re gone from my life,

I’ll miss you until you return,

The hole will be hollow,

When you’re gone from my life.

 

When I’m gone from your life,

You’ll miss me for moments,

At times you might pause,

A vague memory tugging at you,

Wondering what’s gone from your life.

 

When you’re gone from my life,

the light’s a little dimmer,

the wind a little colder,

and I’ll always recall you,

and that you’ve gone from my life.

 

When I’m gone from your life,

There’ll be but a faint glimmer,

A dusting of memory, like a fairy wing’s shimmer,

Then you’ll forget,

I was ever once in your life.

 

It’s not that you’re colder,

It’s not that you’re wrong,

It’s that my purpose is to teach,

And then, like a whisper, be gone.

Leave a Reply

