“For Granted”

~ Esther Mitchell, 2012 ~

You’ll never even notice,

Until I’m long gone,

What I am to you,

What I do for you,

Who I could have been.

While I’m here,

You’ll look right through me,

Assume I’ll always do just as you wish,

A genie at your beck and call,

I’m not human to you – not at all.

You’ll expect things to be done,

Without you moving a muscle,

Assume the world will always run,

As smoothly as I make it now.

But someday I’ll be gone,

And it might be very soon.

Will you wonder where I went?

Or will you hate me,

Because I’m not there to shoulder your load?

Leave a Reply

