“The Other Woman”

~Esther Mitchell, 1996 ~

In Eve’s spirit I was not made,

In Eve’s flesh, I’ll less be said,

In Eve’s heart, I find no home,

for, in Eve’s time, I was dethroned.

I am the other woman,

made of my own flesh, my own rules,

I am the other woman,

my spirit forged in passion’s pool.

In Eve’s place, I would not sit quiet,

In Eve’s mind, I was a blight,

In Eve’s life, I was a thorn,

As, in Eve’s eyes, I was forever scorned.

I am the other woman,

Made of my own heart and soul,

I am the other woman,

Cast out into the cold.

No, I am not like Eve,

Not like her at all,

I am the other woman,

Cast out before the Fall.

Where Eve was foolish,

I was bold,

Where Eve was led,

I would not go,

I was not shallow, and never cold,

I am Wisdom’s spirit, the Mother of old,

Yes, I am the other woman,

never crushed, broken, or bowed.

Leave a Reply

