“Frighten”

~Esther Mitchell, 2011~

Do I frighten you,

Because I’m strong?

A woman who won’t,

Be silent when wronged.

Do I scare you,

Because I can be angered,

Without once knowing hate,

That I won’t put another’s welfare in undeserved danger?

Are you afraid that I know more,

Than you can comprehend,

That I can love others,

More than I care for myself,

And that I consider all my sisters and my brothers?

Does it frighten you,

To know I can forgive you,

But that I’m not idiot enough,

To ever again trust you?

Leave a Reply

